Change font size
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:15 am

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 12   [ 112 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12  Next
 Post subject: Morel gets bored and makes a knife blog
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:27 pm 
Brutal Dictator

Rep: 999
Since this thread is full of bad posting I'm just going to link the relevant blog entries from here at the top so they can be read without wading through the filth (there is some good discussion too).

Morel gets bored and makes a knife:
Part 1 - Assembly
Part 2 - Shaping & Sanding
Part 3 - Surface treatment and polish
Part 4 - I am a noob + jimping
Interlude - Outdoor pictures
Part 5 - Sheath basics
Part 6 - Sheath shaping
Part 7 - Sheath dying & stitching
Part 8 - Pics of finished knife

Morel gets bored and makes yet another knife:
Part 2.0 - Design and material choice
Part 2.1 - Handle making

Part 1 - Assembly
I used to do knife making as a hobby a bit when I still lived at my parents and had a barn etc to work in. now I live in DA BIG CITY so any kind of wood work etc is much harder and dirties up the apartment, so I havent been doing it. Today I said fuck da poleece and get back on the horse. since all the cool kids like chunky and bunk do blogs here is mine.

sadly I didnt think of this until I already got started so you miss all the excitement of prepping the parts, drilling and putting on tape to make me not cut my hands off on the blade etc so we start with final assembly here:

Got a special drill bit which you can see in this picture, you need to prep with a smaller drill, but it has a special non-sharpened tip so you dont fuck up the knife metal. Its used to drill the holes that can hold the handle slabs together with brass corby bolts and also to drill the hole for the brass tube to make the lanyard hole at the end.